How to Heal Bones Faster

My morning routine goes something like this: move my foot around in a position with the least amount of pain so that I can sleep a little more, then eventually put my foot on the floor and allow the blood and fluids to rush into it slowly to minimize the pain of it all happening at once. Its not the fluids themselves that are painful, but the pressure it creates on the inside of my splint. Then I swing over and put my other foot on the floor, grab the crutches next to my bed, align myself and push up to stand myself up. Then I hobble downstairs and make a cup of coffee, eat a handfull of nuts, and set up in the back yard with my foot on a pillow to read and enjoy my coffee.

The pain is an interesting filter for unimportant activities. Everything is judged literally by whether or not it is worth the pain. Coffee? Yes! Going to the bathroom? Eh, I can wait a little longer. Interestingly, I am willing to go through some pain for things that I know will help me improve in the long run. I eat 3 meals a day, and as much as I can at every meal for the extra calories and nutrients.

Shortly after getting home from the hospital, I quickly researched the nutrients and minerals involved in bone healing, got on amazon, and ordered away. I stated in an earlier post that I have a goal of healing 20% faster than average, and this is part of how I intend to do it. Bone is essentially made up of a protein matrix, filled in with mineral deposits, mostly calcium, magnesium, and phosphorus, so of course these nutrients and minerals will be imporant to ingest. Here is a list of what I am taking and why.

IMG_2375Protein – I eat protein rich foods with every meal, but just in case, I am supplimenting with extra whey protein. Protein is required for synthesis of that new bone matrix, and amino acids help with calcium and mineral absorption.

Vitamin C and Alpha Lipoic acid – these antioxidants help clean up the free radicals released by the fracture, which will speed healing. Vitamin C is also essential to synthesize the protein matrix

Fish oil – the omega 3s, along with Vitamin C will help reduce inflammation.

Calcium and Magnesium – as stated above, these are part of bone construction, and while the body will probably scavenge calcium from surrounding bone, it can’t hurt to have a little more. *As a note on this, I skipped my calcium pill today because my kidneys felt a little strange, so I thought I would lighten the load.
Zinc – this essential mineral is a catalyst for cellular growth. It sends the signal for protein to start synthesizing, and is specifically needed for wound healing.

Vitamine D – this regulates calcium absorption in the blood

Vitamine B6 – For some reason, this is linked to fracture healing. I don’t need to know how it works, I’ll just take it and assume it does.
L Glutamine – This amino acid is found in your muscles, and during injury, this is depleted as it is needed at the wound site. The theory is that supplementation will reduce muscle tissue and strength loss. It also supplies 1/3 of the nitrogen required for wound healing. There are a myriad of other benefits with Glutamine, such as boosting intestinal immune function, but these are the primary ones I am concerned with.

iuI really don’t have to do much for bone healing. It’s like a construction site, and I am the logistics manager. All I have to do is make sure the workers have a safe work environment, and that they don’t run out of building materials, and my body takes care of the rest.  Amazing!

Leave a Reply

